h1

I live in a “walkable area”…

August 4, 2007

Schaarbeek

walkability

Walkscore is a website that calculates your area’s walkability and gives your position a score, based on the distance to and amount of shops, schools, restaurants, etc… in your neighborhood.

I did the test after having discovered WalkScore via the Brussel Blogt website (thanks, Mike!) and received a humble 62/100 for my home’s position. Not too bad in this quite residential area on the border between Schaarbeek and St-Josse, but that’s mainly due to the many restaurants and obscure shops alongside the Leuvense Steenweg, I guess. Anyways, I can find anything I need in my neighborhood, and for more I’m quite close to the centre of Brussels.

Do the test yourself at http://walkscore.com/

Find the inspiring article at Brussel Blogt:

http://www.brusselblogt.be/2007/08/02/wandelen.html

Leave a Reply

